You are not logged in.

#1 26-06-13 11:36:49

AircraftHandler79

Becoming a Driving Instructor with Military background

Hi there this is my first post as i'm a newbie to the site & have a burning passion to become a driving instructor when i leave the Forces next year.

Im looking at different resettlement packages for different companies which offer quite good deals but i'm slightly worried that i'm going to go into an overborne industry?

If this was my chosen profession on leaving would anyone recommend going self employed or as part of a franchise with someone like the AA or BSM?

As anyone had any dealing with franchised companies?

Your help will be greatly appreciated.

Regards

Ty

26-06-13 11:36:49

AdBot
Google AdSense Posting Bot

Re: Becoming a Driving Instructor with Military background

#2 26-06-13 12:03:17

Roadmaster
Verified Member

Can you afford a franchise?    If you work for yourself the income goes into your bank not someone else's. 

Yes you would be coming into an oversaturated industry, where supply far outstrips demand.

Even if you are awash with money, do your training with a small training company, or a good independent trainer who doesn't require up front fees.  Then you can use the money you have saved to set up your own business.

#3 26-06-13 12:28:27

AircraftHandler79

As i'm in the forces i will get a resettlement package which will cover all costs of training towards me being a qualified ADI so i'm not worried about that part.

The reason i asked about a franchise is it seems like a good opportunity to get established then move onto the self employed route.

Thanks for the reply.

#4 26-06-13 13:05:51

Roadmaster
Verified Member

Having  a good amount of cash to start is an advantage,  and if you use your money wisely you can get established without becoming skint, and end up being one of the many ADIs who fail to make it past the fourth year.