You are not logged in.

#1 04-08-09 21:56:45

Lankytim

Career change. Is being a driving instructor for me?

Hi everybody.

First things first, id better introduce myself. I'm Tim, I live in Stoke on Trent and up until a month or so ago I was a class 1 HGV driver. Driving large lorries has been a good way of paying the bills but I have never found it very satisfying and have always toyed with the idea of doing something different and more worthwhile with my life. Unfortunately I was "credit crunched" and made redundant last month, I say "unfortunately" but maybe its a good thing as I have been forced to reaccess what I want to do career wise..

Ive found other work delivering cars on trade plates, which is fun but I intend to retrain and find something more concrete ASAP. Ive been looking at various different websites at becoming a driving instructor, I think it looks to be a very fulfilling job to do. I enjoy meeting and working with different people and with my background in driving I feel it could be the job for me.

I understand it would cost around £3000 to train which is alot of money but would be well worth it if it provides me with a career I can rely on, can anyone advise me on the best way of training and what to do next?  Ive no idea which would provide the best route to a qualification and who would provide the best deal regarding work and income.

Basically, has anyone got any advice on what I should do next and any companies I should avoid? Any advice is appreciated, even if its "don't bother, theres no work for instructors!"

Many thanks in advance.

Tim

04-08-09 21:56:45

AdBot
Google AdSense Posting Bot

Re: Career change. Is being a driving instructor for me?

#2 05-08-09 04:51:02

FRANKS
Verified Member

Plenty of advise on here coving this topic, read through the simular threads

Try always to be honest in everthing you do.
Be an 'HONEST BUSINESS PERSON'
Gain respect in ever thing you do

#3 05-08-09 05:42:36

ExAdiNigel