You are not logged in.

#1 14-07-09 22:44:06

leejo180

PCV driver to driving instructor

Hi Guys

I'm new on here and considering a career as a driving instructor and would like your opinions already.

I have done lots of research and come to one conclusion, that being the training is very expensive lol.

The complete package training course's seem to be the way to go from the research I have done and I know a lot of the money goes on Part's 1+2. The thing is I passed my PCV theory and driving test May 2008 so I have recent experience of the multiple choice/Hazard perception tests, I realise the questions will differ for a driving instructor but many will be very similar.
Also due to driving a lot of hours in a very large vehicle and being a Professional driver I am hoping my standard of driving is quite high and I would not need much putting right for Pt 2 but I could be wrong. I know good professional training is a must for Part 3 to have any chance of passing.

What I'm trying to say is do you guy's think the complete training course is still the best option or could I possibly save some money training some other way for Parts 1+2 and concentrating the money I do have on Part 3.

Would appreciate your opinions and ideas
Lee

14-07-09 22:44:06

AdBot
Google AdSense Posting Bot

Re: PCV driver to driving instructor

#2 15-07-09 05:04:56

ExAdiNigel

Yes you possibly could save some money on parts 1 & 2 but then parts 1 & 2 are the cheapest parts which, even combined, tend to take less than half teh training usually required for part 3.  Also any half decent trainer will be covering information required for part 3 throughout parts 1 & 2 - all parts are interlinked it is only the DSA exams that separate them out.

I am not sure where you have done your research but it can be better to find a good independent trainer and pay on an 'as you go' basis though you will find some support on here for the likes of the AA and LDC who sometimes have some good deals on.

Nigel