You are not logged in.

#1 17-09-08 22:24:39

babycakes2k

Urgent advice needed pls!

Hi everyone. I'm new here but after spending an hour or so reading through various posts, I am sure one of you lovely people will be able to give me some good honest advice! So here goes...

I signed up with Lets Drive (now Red / Instructor College) over 2 years ago. I passed my Part 1 pretty much straight away but then due to various issues (Lets Drive no longer trading, 2 babies, etc) I only started training for Part 2 earlier this year. I passed on my 2nd attempt and have since been training for my Part 3. I have had 36 hours training on a 2 to 1 basis. I now face a major dilemma!

My theory test expires on the 3rd of October 2008. The original plan was to book my test on the 2nd (on the advice of my trainer) and therefore have 6 weeks or so after this date to get some more training in. My training session today was terrible. I am nowhere near test standard. I can't get another lesson with my tutor until the 23rd of October so I am not likely to be able to get anymore training sessions in between now and a potential test date. I am really struggling with my briefs and although I have been told I need to practice on my own, I don't have the first clue on where to start. I am really concerned now and have come up with the following 3 options -

1. Try to practice as much as I can, get as many training sessions in as I can (keep checking for cancellations) and take my test irrelevant. That way if I pass, I pass but if not, I have a better idea of what to expect during the test for next time. If I fail, I will have to start from Part 1 again.

2. Book my test as planned and practice as much as I can. If I still feel I'm not ready just before my test, then cancel it and voluntarily start from Part 1 again. I am concerned about all the costs involved with this option and not sure of how much extra training the Instructor College would give me.