You are not logged in.

#1 15-09-04 18:49:45

Spenceruk

Struggling with Part 2

I just can't seem to get to grips with Part 2!
My instructor from Passmasters is excellent but I go away and try to practice and feel very inadequate!
I have over 20 years driving experience on all types of roads and yet, now, whenever I get into the car, I feel like a learner again.
Whenever I go round a corner and drop the car to 15mph at most, and then 2nd gear, and then "push-pull" on the steering wheel to get me round, inevitably there's a car behind right on my tail not expecting me to take the corner like a learner would!
Ensuring I stop at amber traffic lights is a real worry - I've had a couple of near-misses so far when, again, the car behind didn't expect me to stop. (My instructor tells me that an Examiner would mark a fault for going through an amber light because it shows "lack of awareness/planning).
Now I know that these other drivers would be the ones at fault but there's no point having my epitaph as "he was in the right".
"Push-pull" just feels alien to me. Most people abandon that method after passing their test - obviously it must feel alien to them as well?
Reversing with "push-pull" is an absolute nightmare - I don't feel safe at all. Keeping both hands on the steering wheel doesn't allow me to turn my head sufficiently to see behind me properly.
Parallel parking - something I've generally been very good at in the past - my first attempt with "push-pull" was a disaster - nowhere near the kerb and not straight!
Now don't get me wrong - I am most definitely NOT a perfect driver and never will be - indeed I'm far from it. But what I'm saying is that changing these "bad habits" has made me feel less safe in my driving and I am disillusioned as my years of experience apparantly count for nothing!
Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

15-09-04 18:49:45

AdBot
Google AdSense Posting Bot

Re: Struggling with Part 2